Local 17 votes

This election season, we need to elect leaders who’ll stand with us and keep our Union strong.

The general election is quickly coming up — and Sheet Metal Workers are standing together to elect candidates who will keep our job sites safe, protect our benefits, and stand with families like ours.

Are you ready to do your part? Get all the details below to make your voice count at the ballot box.


Local 17’s endorsed candidates have proven time and again that they will stand up for our members and working families across our region.

We endorse the following candidates who’ll protect unions and high-quality union healthcare and pension plans like ours.

They’ll strengthen collective bargaining rights and fight aggressively to stop wage theft and other forms of worker exploitation by unethical companies in our industry and beyond. They also share our belief that Union apprenticeship programs are the backbone of our industry and that safe job sites are productive job sites, especially in the current pandemic.

We encourage our members to stay informed this election season, and vote for the candidates that will advocate for our collective interests.


Joe Biden – President of the United States


U.S. House of Representatives

Richard Neal – District 1

Jim McGovern – District 2

Lori Trahan – District 3

Katherine Clark – District 5

Stephen Lynch – District 8

Bill Keating – District 9

MA State Senate

John Cronin – Worcester & Middlesex

John Keenan – Norfolk & Plymouth

John Velis – Second Hampden & Hampshire

Rebecca Rausch – Norfolk, Bristol & Middlesex

Susan Moran – Plymouth & Barnstable

Jim Welch – Hampden

Mike Brady – Second Plymouth & Barnstable

Nick Collins – First Suffolk

Pat Jehlen – Second Middlesex

Walter Timilty – Norfolk, Bristol & Plymouth

Christine Crean – Worcester & Norfolk

Michael Rush – Suffolk and Norfolk District

State Sen. Patrick O’Connor – Plymouth and Norfolk

MA State House

Marjorie Decker – 25th Middlesex

Christine Barber – 34th Middlesex

Brian Hamlin – 9th Norfolk

James Murphy – 4th Norfolk

Jerald Parisella – 6th Essex

Mark Cusack – 5th Norfolk

Amber Hewett – 1st Essex

Brendan Roche – 1st Bristol

Carmine Gentile – 13th Middlesex

Dan Sena – 37th Middlesex

Deb Busser – 1st Middlesex

Emmanuel Dockter – 5th Plymouth

Joan Meschino – 3rd Plymouth

Josh Cutler – 6th Plymouth

Kathy LaNatra – 12th Plymouth

Kerri O’Connor – 3rd Hampden

Mike Day – 31st Middlesex

Natalie Higgins – 4th Worcester

Sally Kerans – 13th Essex

Samuel Biagetti – 5th Worcester

Thomas Stanley – 9th Middlesex

Will LaRose – 2nd Franklin

Dan Ryan – 2nd Suffolk

David Linsky – 5th Middlesex

John Lawn – 10th Middlesex

John Rogers – 12th Norfolk

Kevin Honan – 17th Suffolk

Michelle DuBois – 10th Plymouth

Paul Donato – 35th Middlesex

Vanna Howard – 17th Middlesex

William Galvin – 6th Norfolk

Meghan Kilcoyne – 12th Worcester

Orlando Ramos – 9th Hampden

Patrick Reynolds – 14th Bristol

Carol Doherty – 3rd Bristol

Christina Eckert – 2nd Essex

David Robertson – 19th Middlesex

Jacob Oliveira – 7th Hampden

Jim Dever – 5th Barnstable

Michael Kushmerek – 3rd Worcester

Patrick Kearney – 4th Plymouth

Tram Nguyen – 18th Essex

Erika Uyterhoeven – 27th Middlesex

Rob Consalvo – 14th Suffolk

Ted Phillips – 8th Norfolk

David Biele – 4th Suffolk

MA Municipal

Patrick McDermott – Norfolk Country Sheriff

Terry Kennedy – Governor’s Council


Dan Feltes – Governor

Bill Bolton – State Senator

Mark Mackenzie – Executive Council

Cinde Warmington – Executive Council



  • Saturday, October 17: MA Federal Early Voting Begins
  • Saturday, October 24: Deadline to Register to Vote in Federal Election
  • Friday, October 30: MA Federal Election Early Voting Ends
  • Wednesday, October 28, 5 PM: Deadline to Submit Mail-In Ballot Application for Federal Election (Postmarked)
  • Tuesday, November 3: Federal Election
New Hampshire 
  • Tuesday, November 3: Federal Election
  • Monday, October 19: Deadline to Register to Vote in General Election – Mail-In or In Person 
  • Saturday, October 31, Deadline to Request an Absentee Ballot 
  • Tuesday, November 3: Federal Election
  • Tuesday, November 3, 8 PM: Deadline to Return Completed Absentee Ballot
Rhode Island
  • Sunday, October 4: Deadline to Register to Vote in General Election
  • Tuesday, October 13 at 4 pm: Deadline to Submit Mail-In Ballot Application
  • Tuesday, November 3: Federal Election


Due to the continued risks posed by COVID-19, states across New England are providing new mail-in voting options. Voting by mail is safe and easy, and you can do it right from home.

Check your state’s information below to register to vote and get your mail-in ballot:


New Hampshire
  • If you’re returning your completed absentee ballot by U.S. Mail, the clerk must receive it by 5:00 PM on Tuesday, September 8 for the primary and Tuesday, November 3 for the general election. 
  • Register to vote: https://bit.ly/32M6VFf 
  • Apply for an absentee ballot: https://bit.ly/3fRDDsc
Rhode Island
  • The deadline to request a mail-in ballot is August 18, and the deadline to return a completed ballot is September 8. Voters must register by August 9. 
  • Register to vote: https://bit.ly/2Cp3M3n 
  • Apply for a mail-in ballot: https://bit.ly/39hcmwU
  • Absentee ballots can be requested up until the third business day before the election. The deadline to register to vote for the general election is October 19. 
  • Learn more and register to vote: https://bit.ly/2OFVwyq
  • Apply for an absentee ballot: https://bit.ly/3fPP83k